Thursday, February 13, 2014

PUP commenced its Mabini Media Awards Awarding rites brimmed with stars by Marc Ace Palaganas

In commemoration of Gat Apolinario Mabini's 150th Birth year, the Polytechnic University of the Philippines through its College of Communication held on February 13, 2014 (yesterday) the first ever PUP Mabini Awards at PUP Bulwagang Balagtas.

The premier university's foremost award-giving body for media was said to be the "most exciting" and could be the "most prestigious" as it features the best networks, best media practitioners, best programs in television, radio, print, online and in advertising, said Dr. Edna T. Bernabe, the college dean.

The Awarding ceremony brimmed with stars from different media as they receive the trophy of recognition for their professionalism on communication and to serve as an inspiration for the rest of communication students that filled the crowd.

42 categories within five media, the winners are as follows.

PUP Mabini Awards for Radio:

Best Radio News Program : Gising Pilipinas!- DZMM
Best Radio Public Service Program: Aksyon Ngayon- DZMM
Best Radio News Commentary Program: Dos Por Dos- DZMM
Best News Program Host: Ricky Rosales
Best Public Service Program Host: Julius Babao
Best Radio News Commentary Program Host: Anthony Taberna
Best FM Radio Program: True Love Conversation (TLC)- 90.7 Love Radio
Best Male Radio Jock: Papa Jack- 90.7 Love Radio
Best Female Radio Jock: Nicole Hyala- 90.7 Love Radio
AM Radio Station of the Year: DZMM- ABS-CBN
FM Radio Station of the Year: 90.7 Love Radio- Manila Broadcasting Company

PUP Mabini Awards for Print:

Best Broadsheet Newspaper: MANILA BULLETIN
Best Tabloid Newspaper: Pilipino Star Ngayon
Best Entertainment Magazine: Yes Magazine- Summit Media
Best Fashion and Lifestyle Magazine: Candy Magazine- Summit Media

PUP Mabini Awards for Print:

Best Blog: Pinoy Mom Blogger
Best Online News Portal:
Best Social Network: Facebook
Best Search Engine:

PUP Mabini Awards for Advertising:

Best Inspirational Advertisement: Hurray for Today- McDonald's
Best Family- Oriented Advertisement: Kuya- McDonald's
Best Advocacy Campaign: Choose Philippines- ABS-CBN

PUP Mabini Awards for Television: (News and Public Affairs)

Best Television News Program: TV Patrol- ABS-CBN
Best Television Magazine Program: Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho- GMA
Best Television Public Service Program: Wish Ko Lang- GMA
Best Television Public Affairs Program: Scene of the Crime Operatives (SOCO)- ABS-CBN
Best Television Documentary Program: I Witness- GMA
Best Television Morning Program: Umagang Kay Ganda- ABS- CBN
Best Television Male News Anchor: Ted Failon of TV Patrol- ABS-CBN
Best Television Female News Anchor: Jessica Soho of State of the Nation- GMA News TV
Best Television Male News Reporter: Jay Taruc- GMA News TV
Best Television Female News Reporter: Gretchen Malalad- ABS-CBN
Best Television Magazine Program Host: Jessica Soho of Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho- GMA
Best Television Public Affairs Program Host: Mel Tiangco of Power House- GMA News TV

PUP Mabini Awards for Television: (Entertainment)

Best Television Drama Program: Be Careful with My Heart- ABS-CBN
Best Television Comedy Program: Bubble Gang- GMA
Best Television Variety Program: Eat Bulaga- GMA and Tape
Best Television Educational Program: Matanglawin- ABS-CBN
Best Television Entertainment Talk Program: Gandang Gabi, Vice- ABS-CBN
Best Television Reality Program: Pilipinas Got Talent- ABS-CBN

PUP Mabini Awards Station of the Year: ABS-CBN

Dr. Emanuel De Guzman graced the awarding of the commemorative trophy to the winners together with his vice presidents.

The mob was joined by famous personalities such as: Atty. Regie Tongol of UNTV, Anthony Taberna (who gave a talk on Radio as Legacy Media vs. New Media), Papa Jack, Nicole Hyala, Chris Tsuper,Kristine Dera, Diego Bandido,Shai Tisai and Raqi Terra, Ricky Rosales of DZMM, Betong Sumaya and Diego Llorico of Bubble Gang, Bernadette Sembrano and Winnie Cordero of Umagang Kay Ganda, Jay Taruc, and Mel Tiangco, Janella Salvador, Jerome Ponce, Marlo Mortel from Be Careful with my Heart, Kuya Kim of Matanglawin, Anjo Yllana and Ryzza Mae Dizon of Eat Bulaga and Ted Failon who gave the longest acceptance speech in the event.

The dean with Dr. Racidon Bernarte, chairman of this year's affair noted that the event first came up from the minds of select 4th year Broadcast Communications Students way back in 2009.

The selection of winners came from the voice of some 12, 436 students of PUP who voted by their Student Information System (SIS) account.

The dean assured the accuracy of the result of the online voting held from June 2012- 2013 for it is scientifically based through the help of the University's Information and Communication's Office.

The program coincided on the college's 3rd Young Communicator's Congress attended by Communication Students from its four departments namely: Journalism, Broadcast Communication, Research and Advertising and Public Relations.PUP Mabini Media Awards


Anonymous said...

feb 13 ba? diba 12?

Unknown said...

it's 13